Presented by

In Partnership with

It’s time for our IT Leadership community to come together to recognize all the achievements  Canadian CIOs have accomplished over the past year, and to celebrate them in our 11th CIO of Year Awards.

IT World Canada (ITWC) and the CIO Association of Canada would like to invite you to nominate your candidate for CIO of The Year. Does your organization have a CIO who deserves recognition by their peers?

It’s easy and we’ll provide you with all it takes to enter a nomination. You can also register to attend the virtual CIO of the Year Awards Reception on May 26, 2022.  

A total of four awards will be presented annually in the following categories:


Nominations are now closed. It is in the hands of an independent judging panel that includes a host of thought leaders in Canada’s technology arena and past winners of this prestigious award. 

Submission Criteria

The awards are open to all senior technology leaders serving Canadian organizations in the following categories:  

The Private Sector Award is open to the senior technology leader at any private sector company of any size.

The Public Sector Award is open to senior technology leaders from federal, provincial and municipal governments as well as all associated agencies, Crown corporations, universities, schools and hospitals.

The Not for Profit Award is open to technology leaders with registered Canadian charities and associations. 

Next Generation Leader Award will be presented to a technology leader who continuously strives for excellence, best management practices and innovation. They will be recognized as demonstrating remarkable promise and outstanding talent as a future leader in the technology sector.

How Do I Apply?

Nomination forms are now available online. Submissions should call out the nominees’ accomplishments and the context in which they were achieved. A successful nomination will allow the judges to clearly understand how the nominees stand apart from his/her colleagues. The nominations can be submitted by colleagues, vendors or through self-nomination.  

Two letters of recommendation attesting to the nominee’s accomplishments are required. The nominator cannot write the recommendation letter.

Note: The nomination letter for the Next Generation Leader Award must be from the nominees’ director or manager and should clearly indicate why the individual should be considered an up-and-coming leader.

The independent panel of judges will select all winners based on both the submission and the nomination letters.

Incentive to Nominate

The CIO of the Year program is about more than awards. It provides an opportunity for the top players in the CIO community to take a bow and be recognized in a public way for the work that often does not get the attention it deserves. The CIO of the Year program includes:

  • Editorial profiles of all finalists in ITWC publications
  • Finalists participate in a Town Hall for a discussion on current CIO issues
  • The four winners are recognized in front of their peers during a virtual celebration
  • Winners may be invited to participate on a panel at the CIO Association’s Peer Forum
  • Winners receive a one-year CIOCAN membership
  • Entry into the national CanadianCIO Hall of Fame

Our 2022 Judges

CanadianCIO Hall of Fame